MANday Week 3 – Man Boobs

We all have different reasons to exercise. I’m working hard to get half naked on Jillian Dodd’s blog for MANday. The problem with posing for pictures online is that they never go away. That’s serious motivation to get in shape! For those of you who don’t know about our bet and the genesis of my Friday MANday blogs, visit my MANday page here.

 

Image

Some people workout so they’ll feel better walking the beach in a bathing suit. Women lose weight for their wedding. I know lots of guys diet to lower their cholesterol. This week I heard a new one. I had lunch with a guy I really admire. He’s in his sixties and he told me he wanted to get rid of his man boobs. I couldn’t help but laugh.

 

Image

My friend has a routine that might work for anyone just starting out or someone who is older and wants a lighter workout. He walks two miles each morning and he uses resistance bands to exercise his arms and legs. (He was using free weights until he pulled a muscle in his shoulder.) The resistance bands are gentler than free weights and work the muscles more evenly. This might be a good idea for those who want to start slowly.

He also told me about a great exercise that I’m going to try this week. He uses a tennis ball to massage the bottoms of his feet and says it works wonders to stretch out his feet and lower legs. After doing this he could press his palms to the floor!

Image

What about my week?

So this week I had a fun experience that told me I’m making good progress. I was at the Fanclub in Wareham playing free poker. I go there almost every week so if you want to shake my hand or get a book signed, come on down. You can try to beat me at poker, too. It is free after all.

It was warm inside the bar, so I took off my pullover. My shirt came up to my shoulders exposing my abs and chest. When I came back from hanging up my pullover, the woman sitting across the table from me was covered in red blotches and fanning herself. Her boyfriend told me she saw my ribs and abs and got excited.

I had to laugh. I’m not exactly a sex symbol, but it did make me feel good about all the work I’ve been putting in. I’m out of holes in my belt and I’m on the verge of needing smaller jeans. And if ab pain is a metric of progress, I am doing great.

Speaking of abs…

My plank times took a dive this week. I was wrapped up with editing a new short story, blogging, and a host of other things and wasn’t giving planking my all. I’m back to 2:01 the last few times out. Part of this might also be that I’ve added other ab exercises and my abs are sore. I need to keep working out, so I’m not going to worry about the plank times for now.

I’ve been doing bicycles. They must be working because they are killing my abs. We’ll see in another week if they start toning me up. I also tried the ab wheel, using my improvised free weight roller. That hasn’t worked as well for me as it has in the past. I’ll stick with it a while, but I’m open to another idea.

I did have one funny scene with the wheel. I’m sure the guys remember the hot chick from the ab wheel video I posted last week. She stretches all the way horizontal and pulls herself back up. I decided to see how close I could come to what she did. I went out a little too far and wound up facedown on the rug. Guess I’m not in her league yet!

On the road…

Running was my strong suit again this week. I’m not running fast, but I ran 4.1 miles on Saturday, Monday, and Friday. Two weeks ago I doubted I’d ever run 4 miles. Now I expect to finish the loop every time out.

It rained most of the week, so I’m fortunate to have gotten three runs in!

I’m not sure if anyone noticed, but I’m intentionally not weighing myself and posting my weight. For me, this isn’t about weight, it’s about tone, lowering my cholesterol, and feeling better. So far I think I’m right on track.

I know lots of you are lurking. I see 200 – 300 of you viewing the blog every week. So come on and tell me….

How are you doing?

31 Comments on “MANday Week 3 – Man Boobs”

  1. Sue Violette says:

    Awful!! Danged knee!! I’m so glad you’re getting positive responses to your new, tight torso!!

  2. This week I’m doing pretty great I’m on day 11 of my fruit cleanse (I’m eating nothing but raw fruit- except for a protein shake after I work out) I kicked butt at yoga and survived another session with my personal trainer, and got a great story idea 🙂

    • cjwestkills says:

      Wonderful! Thanks for sharing your progress. I’d love to hear more about the fruit cleanse. Blog idea for you?

      • I am doing a log- mostly mad rambling- which I post once a week, so only one so far. But I think when I’m done with this I might do weekly journal like entries where I update on how I’m doing in my goal towards a healthy lifestyle. Maybe it’ll help keep me on track.

      • cjwestkills says:

        I think it will help you stay on track. Stay with it.

      • I am keep a log of how I’m doing, mostly mad ramblings 🙂 I posted one last week, and I’ll do the next one Tuesday. I might even keep it up as I work to keep eating healthier.

      • cjwestkills says:

        I find that doing these blogs inspires me to really push myself. Maybe it will do the same for you.

        Anyone reading this, if you post your progress in comments, it may do the same for you.

  3. Better, though I’m not up to par yet. I had no idea that pneumonia would do this to a body. I have a new appreciation for people with breathing problems. It’s been 5 weeks since I’ve done my regular workout program. Did do yoga on Monday, cardio on Wednesday, and zumba this morning. I couldn’t exercise full out at any of them, but it’s progress and I made it all the way through the classes. Day by day by day!

  4. Nissie says:

    I’ve always done pretty well- as long as I wasn’t injured or sick- but the last few days I did absolutely nothing just because I didn’t want to. Pathetic, huh? I’m back at it again today, though.

    • cjwestkills says:

      Hang in there Nissie.

      I think we all have those days. Sometimes life gets us down and it takes a bit for us to get back up. But we do!

      • Nissie says:

        Thanks, CJ. And I agree. I’ve gotten back up quite a few times! I listen to Sugarland’s song, Stand Back Up, a lot. It helps.

  5. Still on my low-impact exercise routine, but all the physical therapy? More than enough! I’m halfway to my weight loss goal, but this exercise and healthy eating routine will continue for much longer. Thanks for posting updates CJ… It’s nice to know I’m not the only one working towards a goal!

  6. Dee Timmons says:

    LOL! Are we supposed to be working out too?? I am thoroughly enjoying your blogs, you make it sound fun…I do work out some when I don’t have my headache for its one I have had since last August. I have been to a Neurologist and she has no idea why I am having the pain I am having. My eye doctor is worried about strokes at this point, but who knows I go to another Neurologist at the end of June maybe he can answer my questions! I think your AWESOME CJ and keep up the great work!!

    • cjwestkills says:

      Thanks Dee. I hope your doctors figure out what is going on. It sounds horrible to have a headache so long!

      Feel better!

      • Dee Timmons says:

        Thank you CJ, it takes a lot just to get out of bed I was in vacation this past week and all I did was sleep! I hate it that I wasted a vacation but my body had other plans. Monday I go back to work and if its not so very bad I will be working out again =]

  7. Cassia says:

    I’ve done good the last two days. You’ve inspired me and given me a couple of good suggestions. I’ve incorporated ab work with my treadmill time, since that’s the area I tend to hold all my weight.

    I have diabetes and high blood pressure and I’m working to lower both and get off the medicine. So far, I have spent and hour on both Wednesday and Thursday on the treadmill (just walking, not up to running yet). Last night I incorporated crunches (only 50) and bicycles (2 sets of 10).

    Today I felt like I’m more in control of what I eat and my pants were fitting better around the waist – just from two days of workouts! It’s encouraging and I am looking forward to tonight. The plan is to put in another hour on the treadmill and get in more bicycles and crunches.

    Thanks, CJ, for your diligence. It feels like I’m on a team reading all these comments of everyone with similar goals and working hard to obtain them.

    • cjwestkills says:

      Fantastic Cassia. I wish more people would post there progress. You should know that hundreds of people are reading this blog each Friday, so you are definitely not alone. Let your comments each week inspire you the way my blog inspires me. When you know you are going to write down your progress, you work harder to make news.

      It works on me every week!

  8. […] MANday Week 3 – Man Boobs (cjwestkills.wordpress.com) […]

  9. Is that Jack Nicholson? I think he’s just adorable, but I really think we should put a shirt on him!

  10. Marcia says:

    Wow, CJ! I haven’t checked in on you for about a week and you’re doing great! You’ll definitely get in the shape you want to appear on MANday! Can’t wait! I hope you’ll post a before and an after picture here when you’re where you want to be. Keep up the great work!

    • cjwestkills says:

      I didn’t take a before picture, but any of my online pictures will do. I don’t think I needed to lose weight before, but it is hard to show abs!!!

  11. P.S. My teenage daughter educated me the other day… Man boobs are now, lovingly, referred to as “Moobs.”

  12. cjwestkills says:

    Thanks Kim!

    No cupcakes for me for a while.

  13. […] another fellow writer, that it’s time to start thinking about me – my health I mean.  CJ West recently made a cheeky post about Man Boobs (yes, my dear daughter, I know they’re called […]


Leave a Reply

