MANday Week 6 – Am I Too Skinny?

A very cool thing happened this week. I was so excited I tweeted, but then what I got back was a shock.

First lets back up. I’ve been working out for six weeks to show abs for MANday. All I’ve been hearing for six weeks is “show me some abs.” The thing about abs is that they’re relatively small muscles smack in the center of a man’s number one fat collection area.

So, if you want to show abs, you’ve got to get skinny. Not just kinda skinny, really skinny! If you look at those guys on Jillian’s MANday features, you can’t see an ounce of fat anywhere.

Image

David Beckham is a good example!

Imagine my excitement this week in the middle of my six mile walk when a guy pulled over and called me Dave. My cousin Dave lives about two miles away. He’s tall and really thin. Until recently no one would confuse us. I wasn’t heavy, but I’m pretty solid.

I tweeted with glee and quickly got back, “We don’t want skinny. We want buff.”

Nice! I started thinking women can never make up their minds, but that’s probably not the case. It’s more like a moving target on the road to change or another example of men being from Mars. You can’t dispute that those guys on Jillian’s page are buff.

Whatever the case, with 44 days to go until my photo, I’m transitioning to more heavy work. I took on two jobs that will help me get in shape. I’m going to do some landscaping and replace a stockade fence. That will help.

Image

I’m not going to bore you with my running progress. I’m running and feeling great. One thing that did surprise me… I worked four hours the other day helping my dad. It was pretty heavy work. When I was done, I ran four miles and even then I felt great. I’m starting to believe running is a miracle drug. I’m loving it.

My plank work is still lagging. I just can’t seem to get revved up about planks. I’m not giving up, but I’m not a planking superstar. If you want to find one, visit #plankaday on Twitter.

Before I go I want to give a shoutout to two ladies who have been really helpful on Twitter in the last two weeks. Show some love to @Roselover24 (Sue), who has been telling everyone she knows to comment on the MANday page!

My new friends Judith and Ellen, who go by @ILoveYAFiction, have been really helping to spread the word and having some fun sharing snarky comments on Twitter at the same time.

What have you been doing this week? C’mon tell me. I know you didn’t spend the whole week on the couch.

19 Comments on “MANday Week 6 – Am I Too Skinny?”

  1. Would like to be working out such as you have but my week has been full of getting my new business up and running. There is a lot of work and it never ends! I had to do the dreaded inventory this week too. My first art show of the season is fast approaching and I must get ready. I do not for see any great work outs for me ahead so… maybe you can do a mile for me 🙂

  2. Jillian Dodd - Glitter, Bliss and Perfect Chaos says:

    Poor CJ, getting all those mixed messages. You’re right though. You have to get through the fat, so you can see the buff muscles!! All I have to say is if you turn out even remotely looking the way David Beckham does, I will have done you a favor. You will be fighting women off with a stick. I mean, a body and the creative mind of a writer. What more could a girl want? Well…like besides money for shoes.

    • cjwestkills says:

      Thanks Jillian. And CONGRATULATIONS on THAT BOY’s big promotion today by Amazon. What fantastic news.

      I hope some day to grow up and be as successful as you are. Then I can buy some lucky girl all the shoes she wants.

  3. Pam Stack says:

    CJ – Glad you’re enjoying the challenge. Now just shuck the shirt and let’s see the results!

    • cjwestkills says:

      I walked the beach shirtless yesterday. It’s interesting that I don’t feel self-conscious about it anymore. I don’t have a belly to suck in or hide.

      It’s a good thing.

  4. I think exercise is the miracle drug, not just running. I’m so glad running is working for you, but it would never do for me. (I did my knees in cheering in high school.) I love the variety of classes at my gym. People keep insisting that I’m still losing weight (40 pounds now) and I haven’t in several months-up and down 3 pounds depending on how much junk I eat-but I guess I just keep toning. I only do planks sometimes as part of class (or to make sure I keep ahead of you). Can’t wait for the photo shoot! Congrats on your progress to a healthier you!

  5. Dee Timmons says:

    Should you turn out looking like David, just remember your fans like you before this mas day thing ;). Not that David is a bad thing to look at, he is intimidating because he is so sexy!

  6. I’ll be honest with you, C.J. A good set of pecs and biceps does it for me even more than a set of abs. It’s all good.

  7. sscarlott says:

    I don’t have any wisdom to impart on working out, but I am going to make the photo you posted of David Beckham as my wallpaper. He is one fine hunk of eye candy…and who knows, he might get replaced as my wallpaper in 44 days.

  8. CJ! Thanks for the shout out. Now, I hope you realize that when I said, “we don’t want skinny CJ, we want buff, CJ” it was said purely out of complete love and attention to your body. Girls want toned and defined. After that, if you’re skinny, husky, whatever, it doesn’t matter. It’s the definition that does it for us. Pretty soon though some girl is gonna come home from the gym and say to her husband, “Baby, can you look like the guy next to me on the treadmill (aka you)” and the husband will puff up and say rather defensively, “That guy? He was a beast. I don’t want to look like that.” But we all know the real reason: he never could. xoxo

  9. My best advice, never try to please a woman… we all want something different anyway. 😉
    I am grossed out by guys that are rail thin and also blobs and meat heats (muscle bound freaks who juice.)

    My husband had a spare tire for awhile and now -ehem – over 40 he started working out with a juice head. Now he’s steering clear of the needles, but the guy is sort of a savant, especially in this subject.

    Weights are very beneficial. The spousal unit is a union laborer working long 12 hour shifts doing back breaking labor. Before he leaves for work, I make him a protein shake (mixing in frozen fruit, 1/2 cup yogurt, 1 banana because it helps with the leg cramps and one scoop each of whey protein and casein along with 6-8 oz water in the blender. It’s quite yummy. Since October he’s lost nearly 40 lbs and probably a good 8-13 inches in his waist. He made a huge transformation from someone who was very much out of shape to a man with 18 inch arms and no huge belly. He has more energy now than ever in his life.

    They do a lot of weight lifting and hip sleds (though I may have that term wrong.)

    Either way, congrats on your progress!


Leave a Reply

