MANday Week 11 – Finding Balance

It’s frustrating to sit on the sidelines. To watch your work slip away and know you could have continued to improve day after day. That’s how I’m feeling after a week without any strenuous exercise.

But there is good news.

What I thought was a stomach ulcer has turned out to be a nasty muscle pull.

I’ve had to stop pushups, planks, and runs while my muscles heal. This weekend would have been my photograph, but I’ve been off my regular workout regimen for weeks and I’m gaining a bit of weight. I feel like I can attain a much better shape given a few more weeks of rigorous workouts, so I’ve decided to wait until I can get back into working out before taking that photo.

Today I’m thinking about finding balance while I wait.

I’m a huge fan of the blog Zen Habits and this week while relaxing with my daughter at the beach I focused on my breathing. Leo talks a lot about breathing and how important it is for us to relax and just breathe from time to time.

I noticed my breathing has become more steady and powerful as a result of my running over the last three months. Try it. Close your eyes, relax and breathe. It’s very centering. Life affirming.

Last night I took a long walk through a cornfield. Walking used to be great exercise, but now no matter how fast I walk, my breathing doesn’t change. It doesn’t feel like exercise anymore, but I am burning calories, stretching my legs and taking in the scenery. I really enjoyed the sweet smell of corn. The rows stretching as far as you can see. And the rabbits and birds darting everywhere.

Today I’m embracing my need for a little balance.

Part of balance for me is eating chocolate. And if you’re going to eat chocolate, why not make it something fantastic? For those of you who’ve been eating chocolate every day, go out and run. For the rest of you, check out this fantastic recipe for a great Friday treat.

 

Image

Peanut Butter Squares
Ingredients
1 cup peanut butter
1 cup honey graham crackers (1/3 box) – crushed
2 sticks margarine – melted
Between ½ and 1 lb confectioner’s sugar
16 oz semi-sweet chocolate morsels

Mix well – peanut butter, graham crackers and margarine.
Add confectioner’s sugar until firm, but not dry.
Spread the mixture in a 13 x 9 pan and compact.
Best results when the top is level

Melt the chocolate chips and spread evenly on top.

Cool this mixture for about 15 minutes in your freezer.
If you cool to the right temperature, the squares cut easily.
Serve slightly cooler than room temperature.

Do not serve frozen!

 

 

2 Comments on “MANday Week 11 – Finding Balance”

  1. You made me hungry. That’s just not nice. -Susan

  2. Advice well given and received. Can’t wait to see those pictures of you but take care of yourself first. We’ll all survive a few more weeks…hopefully.


Leave a Reply

