Getting Over The Hump Day – Welcome Jillian Dodd

Please welcome my new friend Jillian Dodd to Getting Over the Hump Day. Many of you know Jillian from our MANday challenge this summer. For those of you who haven’t met Jillian yet, she’s a YA author who’s had tremendous success with her books That Boy and That Wedding.

Thanks to Jillian for giving us her advice on getting over the hump.

 

I love to write and never sit and stare at a blank screen waiting for the words to come. They usually flow right out of me. I’ve never had writer’s block, but I have had times where a scene or portion of a book just isn’t really working right. Sometimes I think we get so close to our writing that we need to step away. Even though it seems like I’m focusing on other things, my mind is still trying to work out a way. I usually try to motivate it to do so by doing the following:

1. Go for a drive. I roll the windows down, crank up the music, and drive with no where in mind to go.
2. Go for a walk.
3. Cook dinner.
4. Sleep.
5 Call my mom.

When I do things 1-4, I always have my phone handy. Many large chunks of my books are written on a notepad in my phone. I then email it to myself and load it into the manuscript I’m working on.

Number 5 is when I start talking it out. My mom reads all of my works in process, and she’s great at giving me the hard truth when something isn’t working. When Mom and I talk, we basically are brainstorming. Throwing out other ways that the story could go. Other ways the characters could react.

I’m also in a great writer’s group that has a very unique way of working. We help each other brainstorm and sometimes that’s what a writer really needs. Another perspective. Some wild ideas. Things that open my brain up and get it out of the tight focus that it’s been in. For some reason, that allows my mind to come up with the answers it’s been searching for.

What about you? What sorts of techniques do you use to get your mind ready for writing?

Jillian Dodd grew up in Nebraska, where she developed a love for storytelling, Husker football, and Midwestern boys.

She currently resides in Texas with her family.

 Follow Jill on her website and blog,

Glitter, Bliss, and Perfect Chaos.

www.jilliandodd.net

A portion of the proceeds from all Jillian’s books are donated to charity.

 

3 Comments on “Getting Over The Hump Day – Welcome Jillian Dodd”

  1. “I then email it to myself and load it into the manuscript I’m working on”

    I smiled and nodded when I read this. I work nights and don’t have access to a word processor at work, but I do have internet access and web-based email. Many slow, quiet nights I’ve typed a scene or part of a scene and emailed it to myself to be copied into my WIP later.

    And that’s what works to get me unstuck a lot of times – being away from my laptop. It makes me want to write and (of course) the words begin to flow faster than my hands can type them then. LOL Taking a break to read can also get the inspiration going.

    It’s good you have your mom and your crit partners. One of my CPs in particular is good at brainstorming. We do it all the time – bouncing things off each other. It’s a real help.

    Good post. I’ll be sharing this one. 😉

  2. Kim Mullican says:

    Oh man, support structure is so important for a writer. My dad is my rock!

  3. Marcia says:

    Great ideas, Jill. Getting away from the work for awhile definitely helps, although I find I have to force myself to do it. I brainstorm with my husband. He’s given me numerous ideas and always tells me what works and what doesn’t, in his opinion. Getting out of my little town and just sightseeing in a nearby little town gives me ideas…I listen to random conversations or make note of a country store’s name or drive down an interesting street to find a quirky house or anything else out of the ordinary. A new idea will spark others and then I’m off and running!


Leave a Reply

