The Twelve Days of (Christmas) the Mayan Apocalypse (3)

The world is ending soon. We don’t have much time. Let’s figure out what we’re going to do when it all goes to Hell. If you’re new to the Twelve Days of the Mayan Apocalypse, you might want to start here.

Day 3: It Wouldn’t be Apocalyptic Without the Walking Dead

On day two your neighbors started beating each other silly over cans of peaches and jars of peanut butter. By the end of the day a few of them were munching on human brains. On day 3 you wake up to everyone’s apocalyptic nightmare: zombies.

No one is sure where or how the infection started, but it spread so rapidly most of your neighborhood was caught by surprise. Now you’re low on food and you need to get out of the city before you become food. The walking dead clog the sidewalks, aimlessly wandering in search of anyone who isn’t infected.

You need a weapon if you want to survive.

I would leave the house with my PSE bow, Browning Gold shotgun, and my Walther PK 380. The bow is heavy to carry, but the arrows are reusable which is key when battling hordes of the undead. I also own a handy ammo belt for my shotgun, but that sucker would be empty in about two blocks.

If I had my choice, I would upgrade to an HK MP5. It kicks a lot less than the Browning and the ammunition is a lot lighter. The interchangeable magazines make it much easier to load. The only setback trading the Browning for the MP5 is stopping power. The Browning will put anyone on their backside with a 3 inch load of 000 buckshot.

If you had to get out of New York City alive, what weapon would you choose? Would it be a sword like Michonne from The Walking Dead? Or would you go for something with a little more firepower?

You’ll need something to do in the post-civilized world, so order one of my books while Amazon’s servers are still up and UPS is still delivering! Your money won’t be worth anything on December 22nd, so spend it while you can.

 If you’ve never read me try: The End of Marking Time, Sin & Vengeance, or Dinner At Deadman’s. Or get a signed book and help needy kids at www.22wb.com.

15 Comments on “The Twelve Days of (Christmas) the Mayan Apocalypse (3)”

  1. Sue P says:

    Man, I have NO experience with rifles, guns, bazookas, bows, etc … but I am a mean hand with knitting needles and crochet hooks … I can stick a crochet hook up a nose and yank out a brain with the best of them!! And I could probably do a lot of damage with a pointed knitting needle also … I have plenty of both so I guess I would just sew myself a quiver, stick my supply of hooks and needles in it, and be prepared!! Those small sewing pins and needles can do some damage too. Oh yeah … and after forty plus years of daily cooking, I could probably take out a large number of zombies with my cutlery, too. So watch out zombies, some of us old grannies are still good to go!!

  2. Lisa says:

    Okay this time I’m bringing a gas powered chainsaw gas powered edger and all my guns!! Look out New York!

  3. I’d be in deep doodoo! I know nothing about any kind of weapon and by the time I need one, it’d probably be to late to by one and too late to know how to use it. Guess it’s just goodbye!

  4. I can shove some scissors in my pocket. I will get a nice katana to go with the one my son has. I am thinking I would like a nice Glock to have some hallow points in..Am also thinking a nice small bow that shoots those almost dart sized arrow.s Lighter and easier for carrying. Yes Stay away from eating any organ meats at all especially the spinal chord and the brains. The liver is likely to be pretty toxic, I do not recommend those at all. And I also think eating the zombies after chopping off their heads is a bad idea. I am thinking I might also take my Fiji coconut knife, as a coconut is just about the same size as someone’s head..I think to save on gas I might take my non motorized scooter. Luckily I have plenty of fat stored up, no one will want to eat me. I can live off that for quite a while. So now I finally get to lose weight! Pack up my vitamins, a box of matches,a flint and as much toilet paper as I can.And at least a dozen water sterilizing kits..

  5. Dawnna Hale says:

    I would bring my high powered taser gun and a good map so I could hide!

  6. laraedo says:

    If the walking dead is the question to ponder, I have seen it onlly takes minimal trauma to neutrilize zombies S&W military police trainer 22’s have tactical features with easy to carry compact/light weight ammo and I’m thinking a hybred onida bowa large open quiver with all the arrows I can carry w/ target points [with hunting tips olly for food hunting]

  7. ellie mack says:

    HAHAHA! this is just getting better and better! Here’s a big advantage to being a country girl – I can shoot with pinpoint accuracy, can cook just about anything, and I love the comment about the knitting needs. In desperate times anything can become a weapon for survival. My Baretta, sig saur, and Wnchester rifles will be good as long as the ammo hold out. The kitchen is chock full of knives and meat forks – skewers even. The knitting needles – wouldn’t have thought of that one. But let’s not forget the hubs garage – there are power tools out there! A chain saw, skilsaw, sawsall, drills, screwdrivers – there’s even a hatchet and a machete. I can survive out here in the country for a long time before the city zombies reach my digs!


Leave a Reply

